Published: Mon, February 26, 2018
Money | By Hannah Jacobs

Rajya Sabha math poised for a makeover

Rajya Sabha math poised for a makeover

Elections for ten Rajya Sabha members from Uttar Pradesh, retiring in April, will be held on March 23.

"If we don't get one of the three seats in Bihar, we will not only not campaign for any other candidate but will actively campaign against them in the special election in the state", Danish Rizwan, HAM spokesperson, attributed the quote to Manjhi who has been accused by both Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal - U leaders of overestimating his political value. In Rajasthan, the BJP could bag all three seats (against now one it holds) and in Maharashtra together with ally Shiv Sena it hopes to corner six seats (against the two they have).

While most of these top leaders would be re-nominated, there may be some fresh names from the party also joining the upper house team of the BJP.

The states from where members are retiring are Uttar Pradesh (10), Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Telangana and Rajasthan (three each), Bihar and Maharashtra (six each), West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh (five each), Karnataka and Gujarat (four each), Jharkhand (two), and Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand (one each). Another senior leader, Mukul Roy, had resigned from the Rajya Sabha after defecting to BJP. The ruling alliance is expected to re-nominate them for a new term. The elections for these 59 seats, however, will change the composition of the house in their favour.

"As soon as notifications were issued for elections to Rajya Sabha seats, I rang up Mayawati ji and said we could send her to Rajya Sabha from our quota". The nominations filed will be scrutinised on March 13, 2018 and last date for the withdrawal of candidature is March 15, 2018.

Those from the Congress who may find it hard to get re-elected include party spokesman Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Narendra Budania from Rajasthan, Renuka Chowdhury from Andhra Pradesh, Satyavrat Chaturvedi from Madhya Pradesh, Pramod Tiwari from Uttar Pradesh, Mahendra Singh Mahra from Uttarakhand and Shadilal Batra from Haryana.

"The Rajya Sabha polls are a step in the direction to gain numerical advantage and strength in Rajya Sabha, giving the government greater control against the opposition".

Like this: