Published: Thu, May 03, 2018
Tech | By Tabitha Holland

Augusta men's golf heads to Raliegh, NC for NCAA Regionals

Augusta men's golf heads to Raliegh, NC for NCAA Regionals

The Georgia men's golf team will begin its quest for another national championship May 14-16 at the NCAA Regional hosted by Texas A&M, according to an announcement made on Wednesday.

The six regional sites include Raleigh, North Carolina: Lonnie Poole Golf Course; Bryan, Texas: Traditions Club; Columbus, Ohio: Scarlet Course/Ohio State Golf Course; Kissimmee, Florida: Reunion Resort; Norman, Oklahoma: Jimmie Austin Oklahoma University Golf Club; and Stockton, California: The Reserve at Spanos Park.

The top five teams at each of the regionals will comprise the 30-team field that will compete for the NCAA championship at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla., on May 25-30.

Eighty-one teams and 45 individuals were selected to compete at one of six regional championships. The victor of the four-team regional will advance to the Round of 16 in the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina and compete for the national championships from May 17-22. The Chanticleers won the 54-hole stroke play portion by 26 strokes to advance to match play.

Tech's 17-straight NCAA postseason appearances is now the record for any Texas Tech athletic program, passing the 16 consecutive postseason trips achieved by the Lady Raider basketball program, from 1990-2005.

For the first time since 2003, the Wildcats are headed to the NCAA Women's Tennis Championship. Head coach Andrew DiBitetto's squad is now ranked No. 17 nationally, after placing sixth in last week's ACC Championship. Wainright, who played in 132 games with 76 starts over four years for Scott Drew and the men's basketball team, Wainright played in nine games last season for the Bears.

The news comes days after the 'Dogs won the Mountain West Championships in Boise, Idaho, against No. 1 UNLV, 4-2. Michigan State, 12. Yale, 13. "They've had one of the longest runs for the last couple of years, but everybody is tough this time of year". Also present in the field are three other Big Ten teams: Purdue, Wisconsin and Ohio State. The top three teams along with the top three individuals not with a team will advance to the NCAA Championships. BU lost in a playoff in its quarterfinal match against eventual national champion Oklahoma.

Like this: