Published: Sun, August 19, 2018
Tech | By Tabitha Holland

New Gmail confidential mode goes live


If you want to use the new Gmail Confidential Mode, first you have to make sure you have the latest Gmail app installed. That means that Google now has another bit of personal data - an email connected to a phone number.

It's worth pointing out that if you send an email in confidential mode, any attachments that go along with it will be restricted as well.


Gmail's confidential mode is an interesting feature for email that provides low-level protection for your messages. Senders can even set the emails to expire after a set period of time, which comes in handy during the exchange of sensitive information. But Gmail users today can use the new update to protect their messages instead of following in the grumpy footsteps of the cartoon cop. However, one feature which was talked about a lot was the Confidential Mode. Basically, it lets you send self-destructive emails that will be deleted automatically in the said time.

For users of the Gmail web client, Google's support page notes that confidential mode isn't available in the classic version of Gmail. After that, tap on the three dot menu on the top-right of the screen, which will then show a "confidential mode" option.


In case you want to turn on the Confidential Mode to try it out, here are the steps that you will need to follow. You will see an option to remove access, just tap on that, and the recipient will no longer be able to access the file. With apps like BHIM, when you enter the payments mode and take a screenshot, it either gives an error that you can't take screenshots, or on some phones it captures complete black photos. Also, depending on your settings, the attachments in the mail will be or will not be secured by a passcode.


Like this: