Published: Wed, September 05, 2018
Sport | By Tony Jimenez

Bryson DeChambeau first back-to-back winner on PGA Tour this year

Bryson DeChambeau first back-to-back winner on PGA Tour this year

Bryson DeChambeau reacts after putting out on the 18th hole during the final round of the Dell Technologies Championship golf tournament at TPC Boston in Norton, Mass., Monday, Sept. 3, 2018.

Woods, a 14-time major champion, will play in his first Ryder Cup since 2012 having recovered from back surgery and impressed over the past year.

Mickelson and Woods were considered virtual locks, with both Ryder Cup veterans playing well enough throughout the summer to warrant spots on the team.

He won for the third time this year and would appear to be a shoo-in to be one of U.S. Ryder Cup captain Jim Furyk's three picks to be announced Tuesday.

The win guaranteed that DeChambeau will be the top player in the playoff standings when the season concludes at the Tour Championship in three weeks in Atlanta, regardless of how he finishes next week at the BMW Championship in suburban Philadelphia.

Woods, Mickelson and DeChambeau will be joined by one more of Furyk's captain's picks which will be announced Monday.

"It's obvious that the one thing that has been missing is for our team to go over to Europe and win", said Mickelson, who has played on three winning US teams - but never overseas. Tony Finau is considered the leading candidate. Check in for highlights from every tournament plus player interviews, player profiles, tournament previews, swing analysis and all the greatest shots and awesome moments.

"It's been a treat to be around the Ryder Cup team, and to be able to have this honor is incredible", said DeChambeau, who has three victories in his past 10 worldwide starts.

Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and Webb Simpson were the eight automatic qualifiers for the American team, with Furyk's picks the three immediately below them in the qualification standings.

'Lo and behold I'm part of this team. "How much? I would say it depends on what I can do in the restrictions of my biomechanics". The U.S. last won away from home in 1993.

Woods will no longer be a vice captain, though Furyk said he would continue to lean on his advice.

Furyk also announced that David Duval, Zach Johnson and Matt Kuchar would join Davis Love III and Steve Stricker as US vice-captains in Paris.

You can see who Thomas Bjorn selects with his four captain's picks on Wednesday at 2pm (BST) - we'll be covering the announcement live on The Sportsman.

Like this: