Published: Thu, November 08, 2018
Sport | By Tony Jimenez

Red Sox Lead AL And Tie Braves For Most Gold Glove Winners

Red Sox Lead AL And Tie Braves For Most Gold Glove Winners

The winners for both the National and American League Gold Gloves were announced on Sunday night.

With the win, Greinke ties Ron Guidry, Phil Niekro and Kenny Rogers for seventh all-time among pitchers to win the award. He also won the award in 2016 and was a finalist in 2017.

Mookie Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler have won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Boston Red Sox.

Dickerson had a 1.1 dWAR this season according to Baseball-Reference, the first season of his career that he has been above a negative rating.

Colorado Rockies infielder DJ LeMahieu, who helped lead LSU to the 2009 College World Series title, was named the victor Sunday night of the 2018 National League Gold Glove Award at second base.

He's got a World Series ring, and now a Gold Glove to go along with it.

Oakland, Colorado and Arizona each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield. Additionally, no Toronto Blue Jay placed in the top 25 of top AL qualified players by SDI.

Rizzo had a.995 fielding percentage in 153 games at first base in 2018. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process as part of its new collaboration with the SABR. Diamondbacks shortstop Nick Ahmed, Braves center fielder Ender Inciarte and Braves right fielder Nick Markakis also won in the NL.

Freeman led all National League first basemen in defensive runs saved and logged 24 scoops on the season.

Like this: